• About the Author

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 84 other followers

  • Archive

  • Categories

  • May 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Disclaimer

    The following are INFORMATION, ARTICLES and OTHER that I found interesting for the day, week , month. My PROFESSIONAL OPINIONS are added to the information based on my EXPERIENCES in the SECURITY and INTELLIGENCE professions. If YOU have ARTICLES or OTHER you would like placed on the site, please do not hesitate to send them to me with YOUR OPINIONS at efpipps@gmail.com. I look forward to ALL of your comments and information.

THOUGHTS OF THE DAY 5/19

BATTLE STRATEGY HISTORY OF THE DAY:

BATTLE HISTORIES are taken from, 100 BATTLES, DECISIVE CONFLICTS THAT SHAPED THE WORLD, by Martin J. Dougherty

WATERLOO, 1815

The final battle of the Napoleonic Wars saw the French Emperor’s ambitions crushed once and for all despite flashes of his former brilliance.  Napoleon was unable to break up the Allied Armies, and his fate was sealed by the Prussians marching to Wellington’s aid on June 18 rather than falling back after their reverse at Ligny.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Waterloo

TIME UNTIL NEXT POTUS ELECTION:

903 Days, 9 Hours, 50 Minutes, 21 Seconds

QUOTE OF THE DAY:

“Pretend inferiority and encourage his arrogance.”

— Sun Tzu 

VIDEO OF THE DAY:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yWfetF1jCO4

Great video (funny) of clown being stupid at a bar and trying to get in, but the bouncer, a champion fighter, talks to him about calling his brother. Just watch!

THOUGHT OF THE DAY: 

This AM I had to take a PT test.  I had the pushups, pull-ups, and setups covered, but then there was the (music from Psycho please!) MILE RUN!  I was telling one of the other people joining me that I was not good at this when I was good at it.  On top of that, I hyper-extended my knee the week before and it was tender to say the least.  I did have a few things going for me: Ibuprofen, the track was soft rubber, it was cool outside, and early in the morning.  But the best thing going for me was the fact that everyone out there was either in the military and getting out, or had just gotten out.  I love me some COMPETITION!  Don’t get me wrong, I did not beat any of them, but that was not the point.  The point was the timed run and I beat the time I needed by more than a minute.  Yes, miracles do happen.  It is amazing the stuff that runs through your mind when the body is SQUEALING…STOP, PACK IT IN, GO HOME, there is nothing lost here.  But there was, and that is the thing that makes one successful not only in the Protection Business, but in anything you start to do in your life, just GUTTING IT OUT!  I don’t know what part of the brain kicked in and got me through it, maybe the part where it argued and lost that I was too stupid to quit.  Even being lapped didn’t bother me, maybe a little, but hearing the girl yell out the time when I crossed the line for the last time, it is one of the little things in your life that you remember with pride.  It is something enjoyed by SELF and no one else.  I thank the guys I ran with this AM, I thank the people who listened to my doubts about running under the time, it was all good, it was all enjoyable, and I look forward to the next hurdle in the game of life.

RULE OF THE DAY:

Go buy a tennis ball and squeeze it.  Squeeze it until your forearms are about to explode, stop for a while and then do it again.  Squeeze it every day!  A strong grip in this business is all important.  If you can grab an arm, a hand, a wrist and hold on, it can, and probably will, save your life or the clients. Laugh all you want, BUT JUST DO IT!

Leave a Reply

